AFI Release New Song ‘Get Dark;’ Announce ‘The Missing Man’ EP

Surprise! AFI have just released a new song titled “Get Dark.” And to make things even better, it’s the first track from their upcoming EP, The Missing Man (Ex Noctem Nacimur), out December 7. The EP was produced and mixed by guitarist Jade Puget. The song comes after the band posted a cryptic photo on their Twitter featuring all of the members except frontman Davey Havok. Listen to the song and check out the tracklisting below.

Speaking about the track Havok says “From the initial performance and recording, it had a driving sense of forward movement and penetrating connection. The song’s themes of deification and deference, self-loathing and vanity, captivation and release, damage and healing, are posed in a subtle invitation to those inherently compelled to accept.”

Puget adds “I was aiming for something a little raw for ‘Get Dark’. In fact, I used most of the vocal takes from the very first time Davey sang it, as well as some of my guitar parts from when we were writing it. The song is built on the sparseness and simplicity of the verse drum groove and guitar riff that opens up into this big anthemic chorus. For the EP, the same idea of a certain rawness was really important to the overall vibe. I feel like it’s easy to turn out a slick, polished set of songs, but to walk that fine line between studio creation and live sound can be difficult. It’s been an intense labor of love and we can’t wait for everyone to hear it.”

To celebrate the upcoming release, the band will perform two shows in California on December 9 in Sacramento and December 10 in San Deigo. Tickets go on sale Friday, November 2.

The Missing Man (Ex Noctem Nacimur) is available for pre-order now. Those who pre-order get an instant download of “Get Dark.” The EP marks the follow up to their 2017 album AFI (The Blood Album).

The Missing Man EP tracklisting:

1. Trash Bat
2. Break Angels
3. Back into the Sun
4. Get Dark
5. The Missing Man

Related Images:

Ashley Perez Hollingsworth

Ashley Perez is a freelance music journalist based in Chicago. Her work has appeared on AXS, Chicago Innerview, New City, The Millions, and Illinois Entertainer. She also runs her own music blog at Radio Not Found. Some of her favorite bands include Nirvana, The Cure, Muse, Creeper, and Green Day.

0 thoughts on “AFI Release New Song ‘Get Dark;’ Announce ‘The Missing Man’ EP

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.