Billie Joe Armstrong’s The Longshot Drops Surprise Album And ‘Love Is For Losers’ Video

Just last week, Billie Joe Armstrong released a three-song EP from his new band The Longshot. Now, the band has surprised fans by releasing their full-length album, dubbed Love is for Losers. Clocking in at 32-minutes the album features 11 tracks, including the ones previously released on the EP. The band also revealed their debut music video for the title track directed by Brendan Walter. The clip features Armstrong and his bandmates, Jeff Matika (guitarist), Kevin Peterson (guitarist), and David S. Field (drummer), rocking out under the glow of flashing carnival lights. Check out the video along with the Love is for Losers tracklisting below. Stream and purchase the album here.

UPDATE: The Longshot have released dates for their upcoming summer tour. Shows kick off May 3 in Tijuana, MX and wrap up June 2 in Philadelphia, PA. Tickets go on sale Friday, April 27. Check out all the dates here.

On the band’s Instagram page, it’s revealed all the songs were written by Armstrong, expect closing track “Goodbye to Romance,” which is an Ozzy Osbourne cover from his solo album Blizzard of Ozz. Since the release of their EP, the band has played several shows in California. They’re set to play another live show this weekend.

Over the past few weeks, Armstrong has been teasing The Longshot by posting cryptic teasers of songs and artwork on Instagram. He officially revealed the band last week when they quietly dropped their self-titled EP. It was first believed that Armstrong’s son, Joey, was involved after he hinted on it on his Instagram page. For the latest updates on The Longshot be sure to follow their Instagram page.

Love is For Losers artwork:

Love is for Losers Artwork

Love Is For Losers Tracklist:
01. The Last Time
02. Taxi Driver
03. Chasing a Ghost
04. Body Bag
05. Love is for Losers
06. Cult Hero
07. Kill Your Friends
08. Happiness
09. Soul Surrender
10. Turn Me Loose
11. Goodbye to Romance


Related Images:

Ashley Perez Hollingsworth

Ashley Perez is a freelance music journalist based in Chicago. Her work has appeared on AXS, Chicago Innerview, New City, The Millions, and Illinois Entertainer. She also runs her own music blog at Radio Not Found. Some of her favorite bands include Nirvana, The Cure, Muse, Creeper, and Green Day.

0 thoughts on “Billie Joe Armstrong’s The Longshot Drops Surprise Album And ‘Love Is For Losers’ Video

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.