Blur Announce ‘The Ballad Of Darren,’ First New Album In 8 Years

Blur are set to return this year with The Ballad of Darren, their first album in eight years. The album arrives July 21st via Parlophone. Hear the lead single “The Narcissist” below.

Produced by James Ford and recorded at Studio 13, London and Devon frontman Damen Albarn describes the album as “an aftershock record, reflection and comment on where we find ourselves now.” Alex James added “For any long term relationship to last with any meaning you have to be able to surprise each other somehow and somehow we all continue to do that.”

“It always feels very natural to make music together. With every record we do, the process reveals something new and we develop as a band. We don’t take that for granted,” said Dave Rowntree.

Pre-order for The Ballad of Darren can be found here. Check out the tracklisting below.

Blur are gearing up to embark on their first tour since 2015 with shows booked in the UK, Europe, Japan, and South America. Check out all their dates here.



01. The Ballad
02. St Charles Square
03. Barbaric
04. Russian Strings
05. The Everglades (For Leonard)
06. The Narcissist
07. Goodbye Albert
08. Far Away Island
09. Avalon
10. The Heights

Related Images:

Ashley Perez Hollingsworth

Ashley Perez is a freelance music journalist based in Chicago. Her work has appeared on AXS, Chicago Innerview, New City, The Millions, and Illinois Entertainer. She also runs her own music blog at Radio Not Found. Some of her favorite bands include Nirvana, The Cure, Muse, Creeper, and Green Day.

0 thoughts on “Blur Announce ‘The Ballad Of Darren,’ First New Album In 8 Years

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.