Code Orange Announce New Album, Share ‘Take Shape’ Featuring Billy Corgan

Code Orange have announced a new album, The Above, which arrives September 29th via Blue Grape Music.

The follow-up to 2020’s Underneath was self-produced by band members Jami Morgan and Eric “Shade” Balderose, with engineering by Steve Albini.

“We wanted the album to be able to wash over you with melody, aggression, and joy, but it was of equal importance that the closer you look, the more you are rewarded,” Morgan says of the upcoming album. “It was to feel rooted in the ‘analogue’ world, but with threads of digital reality binding things together.”

He added, “We wanted the sound and even the recording process itself to reflect that edict, so we enlisted Steve Albini at Electrical Audio to get the most real and raw version of the band possible, even recording us all at once in a room together for the first time in our career.”

Ahead of its release, the band has shared new single “Take Shape” featuring Smashing Pumpkins frontman Billy Corgan. Max Moore co-directed the video along with Morgan, which marks the singer’s directorial debut.

“I have been working on the concept for this video, and others to come, for about a year and a half. I am so thankful to have been able to sit under the learning tree of Max Moore and our DP Eric Robbins,” Morgan said in a statement. “They allowed me to sit in on every minute of this process from hirings to scouting, all the way to final coloring. Being that deep was a revelation, and I have found a new love along the way. I couldn’t be prouder of the result.”

Watch the video below.

Pre-orders for The Above can be found here.

Code Orange are slated to appear at a handful of festivals this fall, including Rocklahoma, Louder Than Life, and Riot Fest. Check out all their dates here.



01. Never Far Apart
02. Theatre of Cruelty
03. Take Shape (feat. Billy Corgan)
04. The Mask Oof Sanity Slips
05. Mirror
06. A Drone Opting Out of The Hive
07. I Fly
08. Splinter the Soul
09. The Game
10. Grooming My Replacement
11. Snapshot
12. Circle Through
13. But a Dream…
14. The Above

Related Images:

Ashley Perez Hollingsworth

Ashley Perez is a freelance music journalist based in Chicago. Her work has appeared on AXS, Chicago Innerview, New City, The Millions, and Illinois Entertainer. She also runs her own music blog at Radio Not Found. Some of her favorite bands include Nirvana, The Cure, Muse, Creeper, and Green Day.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.