Dream Wife Announce New Album ‘Social Lubrication,’ Share New Single

Dream Wife returns this summer with their new album Social Lubrication, out June 9th via Lucky Number. As a preview of what’s to come, the band have shared their new single “Hot (Don’t Date a Musician).”

Speaking about the song in a press release singer Rakel Mjöll says “Dating musicians is a nightmare. Evoking imagery of late night make-outs with fuckboy/girl/ambiguously-gendered musicians on their mattress after being seduced by song-writing chat. The roles being equally reversed. Having a laugh together and being able to poke fun at ourselves is very much at the heart of this band.”

Watch “Hot (Don’t Date a Musician)” music video below.

Self-written and self-produced entirely by Dream Wife, Social Lubrication is comprised of songs that are “hyper lusty rock and roll with a political punch, exploring the alchemy of attraction, the lust for life, embracing community and calling out the patriarchy,” the band explain of their new music. “With a healthy dose of playfulness and fun thrown in.”

“Music is one of the only forms of people experiencing an emotion together in a visceral, physical, real way,” says guitarist Alice Go. “It’s cathartic to the systemic issues that are being called out across the board in the record. Music isn’t the cure, but it’s the remedy. That’s what Social Lubrication is: the positive glue that can create solidarity and community.”

Pre-orders can be found here.

Last year, Dream Wife shared new single “Leech,” which also appears on the upcoming album.


















01. Kick In the Teeth
02. Who Do You Wanna Be?
03. Hot (Don’t Date A Musician)
04. Social Lubrication
05. Mascara
06. Leech
07. I Want You
08. Curious
09. Honestly
10. Orbit

Related Images:

Ashley Perez Hollingsworth

Ashley Perez is a freelance music journalist based in Chicago. Her work has appeared on AXS, Chicago Innerview, New City, The Millions, and Illinois Entertainer. She also runs her own music blog at Radio Not Found. Some of her favorite bands include Nirvana, The Cure, Muse, Creeper, and Green Day.

0 thoughts on “Dream Wife Announce New Album ‘Social Lubrication,’ Share New Single

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.