Franz Ferdinand Announce Greatest Hits Album ‘Hits To The Head’

Franz Ferdinand celebrate their 20-year career with their new greatest hits album, Hits To the Head, out March 11th, 2022 via Domino.

The compilation collects the band’s biggest hits and features two new songs, “Billy Goodbye” and “Curious,” which they recorded last year. Both tracks were co-produced by Stuart Price.

Listen to “Billy Goodbye” below.

Frontman Alex Kapranos talked about the similarities between putting together the compilation and getting ready for a show saying, “It’s the same as writing a set-list for a festival: you want to play the songs you know people want to hear. The hits. Bring the hits to the head. The heart. The feet. That means obvious singles, but also songs you know have a special meaning for both band and audience like ‘Outsiders.’

“We also added two new songs, recorded last year: ‘Billy Goodbye’ and ‘Curious,’ both co-produced at the last stage with Stuart Price. I have friends who believe you’re somehow not a ‘real’ fan if you own a best of rather than a discography. I disagree. I think of my parents’ record collection as a kid. I loved their compilation LPs. I am so grateful that they had Changes or Rolled Gold. Those LPs were my entrance point. My introduction.”

Hits To the Head will be available on CD, deluxe CD, double gatefold 2XLP, gatefold red 2XLP, gatefold gold 2XLP, and cassette. CD and vinyl releases include liner notes from former Les Inrockuptibles editor JD Beauvallet and unseen photographs of the band. Pre-orders are available here.

Franz Ferdinand recently bid farewell to longtime drummer Paul Thomson, who left the band after 19 years. He’s been replaced by Audrey Tait.



01. Darts of Pleasure
02. Take Me Out
03. The Dark of the Matinee
04. Michael
05. This Fire
06. Do You Want To
07. Walk Away
08. The Fallen
09. Outsiders
10. Lucid Dreams
11. Ulysses
12. No You Girls
13. Right Action
14. Evil Eye
15. Love Illumination
16. Stand on the Horizon
17. Always Ascending
18. Glimpse of Love
19. Curious
20. Billy Goodbye

Related Images:

Ashley Perez Hollingsworth

Ashley Perez is a freelance music journalist based in Chicago. Her work has appeared on AXS, Chicago Innerview, New City, The Millions, and Illinois Entertainer. She also runs her own music blog at Radio Not Found. Some of her favorite bands include Nirvana, The Cure, Muse, Creeper, and Green Day.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.