Muse Announce ‘Origin Of Symmetry’ 20th Anniversary Remix Album

Muse have announced an Origin of Symmetry remix album to celebrate the landmark record’s 20th anniversary.

The anniversary edition features remixed and remastered audio by producer Rich Costey along with re-imagined artwork by Sujin Kim.

“Whereas most remix albums aim to radically rework the material, or to switch to an entirely different genre, the band and Costey wanted to provide a renewed clarity with a more open, dynamic and less crushed sound,” a press release states. “This highlights parts and ideas previously buried or muted on the original mixes, like a harpsichord on “Micro Cuts” and Abbey Road recorded strings on ‘Citizen Erased,’ ‘Megalomania,’ and ‘Space Dementia.'”

Frontman Matt Bellamy says “In revisiting the album, what we found was the original mixes on the singles, like ‘Plug In Baby’ and ‘Bliss,’ were pretty good so they were the hardest ones to improve. It was the deeper album tracks like ‘Micro Cuts’ where we were able to make massive breakthroughs.”

Get a taste of the remix album with the “Citizen Erased (XX Anniversary RemiXX)” below.

Muse’s Origin of Symmetry: XX Anniversary RemiXX will be released digitally on June 18th as well as on vinyl on July 9th.

A limited-edition exclusive 140 gram colored double-vinyl set is available from the band’s official store. It features LP1 on translucent sun yellow vinyl and LP2 on translucent orange vinyl. Both versions of the vinyl feature an unorthodox detail: the sides are marked M, U, S and E rather than the standard format. Pre-order the album here.



Side M
1. New Born
2. Bliss

Side U
3. Space Dementia
4. Hyper Music
5. Plug In Baby

Side S
6. Citizen Erased
7. Micro Cuts
8. Screenager
9. Darkshines

Side E
10. Feeling Good
11. Futurism
12. Megalomania

Related Images:

Ashley Perez Hollingsworth

Ashley Perez is a freelance music journalist based in Chicago. Her work has appeared on AXS, Chicago Innerview, New City, The Millions, and Illinois Entertainer. She also runs her own music blog at Radio Not Found. Some of her favorite bands include Nirvana, The Cure, Muse, Creeper, and Green Day.

0 thoughts on “Muse Announce ‘Origin Of Symmetry’ 20th Anniversary Remix Album

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.