Muse Announce New Album, Share New Song ‘Compliance’

The wait is over. Muse have announced their new album, Will of the People, out August 26th via Warner Records. Additionally, the band have also shared new single “Compliance.”

Self-produced by the band and recorded in LA and London, frontman Matt Bellamy says the album is “influenced by the increasing uncertainty and instability in the world”.

“A pandemic, new wars in Europe, massive protests and riots, an attempted insurrection, Western democracy wavering, rising authoritarianism, wildfires and natural disasters and the destabilisation of the global order all informed ‘Will Of The People’,” the guitarist said.

“It has been a worrying and scary time for all of us as the Western empire and the natural world, which have cradled us for so long are genuinely threatened. This album is a personal navigation through those fears and preparation for what comes next.”

Speaking about the new song “Compliance,” the band said:

“‘Compliance’ is about submission to authoritarian rules and reassuring untruths to be accepted to an in-group. Gangs, governments, demagogues, social media algorithms & religions seduce us during times of vulnerability, creating arbitrary rules and distorted ideas for us to comply with. They sell us comforting myths, telling us only they can explain reality while simultaneously diminishing our freedom, autonomy and independent thought. We are not just coerced, we are herded, frightened and corralled to produce a daily ‘2 minutes of hate’ against an out-group of their choosing and to turn a blind eye to our own internal voice of reason & compassion. They just need our Compliance.”

Listen to the song below.

Pre-order Will of the People here. See the tracklisting and artwork below.

Muse are set to headline Isle of Wright festival in June. They will also play Berlin’s Tempelhof Sounds and Madrid’s Mad Cool Festival this summer.


muse artwork will of the people new album compliance


01. Will of the People
02. Compliance
03. Liberation
04. Won’t Stand Down
05. Ghosts (How Can I Move On)
06. You Make Me Feel Like It’s Halloween
07. Kill or Be Killed
08. Verona
09. Euphoria
10. We Are Fucking Fucked

Ashley Perez Hollingsworth

Ashley Perez is a freelance music journalist based in Chicago. Her work has appeared on AXS, Chicago Innerview, New City, The Millions, and Illinois Entertainer. She also runs her own music blog at Radio Not Found. Some of her favorite bands include Nirvana, The Cure, Muse, Creeper, and Green Day.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: