PUP Announce New Album ‘THE UNRAVELING OF PUPTHEBAND,’ Share New Song

Rejoice punk rock fans! PUP have announced their new album, THE UNRAVELING OF PUPTHEBAND, out April 1st via Little Dipper/Rise Records.

To preview the album, the band shared new single “Robot Writes a Love Song,” which is full of the biting humor and dark undertones that have become a PUP staple. Frontman Stefan Babcock sings about love that goes beyond death: “I saw your corpse rolling out the door/ But I backed up your memory before/ They came for you, your monitor was blue/ But your data’s all stored/ And when they come back with your new body/ I’ll load you into the new machine again/ And bring you back to me.”

The song’s accompanying music video by Whitey McConnaughy features Babcock’s face flickering on a monitor attached to a human body. He becomes more and more unstable as he starts dealing with the complexity and frustration of human emotions.

Watch the video below.

Described by the band as “our favorite record we’ve ever made” THE UNRAVELING OF PUPTHEBAND features 12 tracks including previously released single “Waiting.”

“We recorded it holed up in this big old American Horror Story mansion in Connecticut owned by our friend / producer Peter Katis,” says the band. “We were there for five weeks, living together, making the record at all hours, not really leaving the house except to get groceries. As the weeks passed, we seemed less and less rational, objective, and sane. You can hear the band start to fall off the cliff, and because of that, I think this record is our truest and most genuine to date. There is nothing more PUP than a slow and inevitable descent into self-destruction. We can’t wait for you to hear it. It’s a complete disaster in the best way.”


PUP will embark on their 2022 North American tour starting next month. Check out those dates here.




01. Four Chords
02. Totally Fine
03. Robot Writes a Love Song
04. Matilda
05. Relentless
06. Four Chords Pt. II: Five Chords
07. Waiting
08. Habits
09. Cutting Off the Corners
10. Grim Reaping
11. Four Chords Pt. III: Diminishing Returns
12. PUPTHEBAND Inc. Is Filing for Bankruptcy

Related Images:

Ashley Perez Hollingsworth

Ashley Perez is a freelance music journalist based in Chicago. Her work has appeared on AXS, Chicago Innerview, New City, The Millions, and Illinois Entertainer. She also runs her own music blog at Radio Not Found. Some of her favorite bands include Nirvana, The Cure, Muse, Creeper, and Green Day.

0 thoughts on “PUP Announce New Album ‘THE UNRAVELING OF PUPTHEBAND,’ Share New Song

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.