Rock Hall of Fame Class 2023: Rage Against the Machine, Willie Nelson, Missy Elliott, Kate Bush, & More

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame has announced its class of 2023. Rage Against the Machine, Willie Nelson, Missy Elliott, Kate Bush, George Michael, Sheryl Crow, and The Spinners will be inducted during a ceremony held in Brooklyn on November 3rd.

Additionally, Chaka Khan, Al Kooper, and Bernie Taupin will be honored with the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame’s Musical Excellence Award. DJ Kool Herc and Link Wray will also receive the Musical Influence Award. The late creator and host of Soul Train Don Cornelius will receive the Ahmet Ertegun Award, which honors non-performing industry professionals.

Nelson, Elliott, Michael, and Crow are all being inducted after their first time on the ballot. Meanwhile, it took Bush and Rage Against the Machine their fourth and fifth times respectively to finally make it in. In response to the news, Rage Against the Machine noted the “surprise trajectory” of their career. Meanwhile, Kate Bush said she is in “complete shock” about the news.

The 2023 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame induction ceremony will take place in Brooklyn, New York at the Barclays Center on November 3rd.

Congrats to this year’s winners!

Ashley Perez Hollingsworth

Ashley Perez is a freelance music journalist based in Chicago. Her work has appeared on AXS, Chicago Innerview, New City, The Millions, and Illinois Entertainer. She also runs her own music blog at Radio Not Found. Some of her favorite bands include Nirvana, The Cure, Muse, Creeper, and Green Day.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: