Taking Back Sunday Reveal The Departure of Founding Member Eddie Reyes

Yesterday, Taking Back Sunday announced the departure of guitarist and founding member Eddie Reyes. The band posted an official statement on Facebook, but offered little explanation other than “personal reasons.”

“Guitarist Eddie Reyes and Taking Back Sunday have parted ways due to personal reasons,” the statement reads in part. “Eddie was a founding member of the band and his contributions can be felt all along the way. John, Shaun, Mark, and Adam love Eddie, wish him well in his future endeavors.”

Reyes and current Brand New frontman Jesse Lacey co-founded Taking Back Sunday back in 1999. Reyes played on all seven of the band’s albums, with the most recent being 2016’s Tidal Wave.

The band has gone through several lineup changes since their formation. In past, the band has featured Jesse Lacey (1999 – 2000), Steven DeJoseph (1999 -2000), Antonio Longo (1999 – 2001), Fred Mascherino (2003 – 2007), Matt Rubano (2003 – 2010), and Matthew Fazzi (2008 – 2010). The current lineup consists of John Nolan, Adam Lazzara, Mark O’Connell, and Shaun Cooper.

Taking Back Sunday will embark on a co-headlining tour with Coheed and Cambria starting July 6.

Ashley Perez Hollingsworth

Ashley Perez is a freelance music journalist based in Chicago. Her work has appeared on AXS, Chicago Innerview, New City, The Millions, and Illinois Entertainer. She also runs her own music blog at Radio Not Found. Some of her favorite bands include Nirvana, The Cure, Muse, Creeper, and Green Day.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: