The Flaming Lips Announce New Album ‘King’s Mouth’

The Flaming Lips have announced the wide release of their new album King’s Mouth. The record had an original run of 4,000 pressings for Record Store Day. Now, the LP will come out on all formats on July 19th via Warner Bros. They also gave a taste of the album with the new song “All for the Life of the City.” Listen to it below.

Spanning 12 tracks, King’s Mouth is a concept album about a community mourning the death of a noble monarch. The record is part of a larger art installation currently on display at Routh Trade NYC through May 31st. The project will be completed with a literary tome called King’s Mouth: Immerse Heap Trip Fantasy Experience, which tells the story of the King’s Mouth with words and visuals by frontman Wayne Coyne.

Talking about the project Coyne said “The King’s Mouth immersive/child-like qualities are born from the same spark and womb as The Flaming Lips live performances. The King’s Mouthadventure was made for humans of all sizes, ages, cultures, and religions.”

King’s Mouth Artwork:

Flaming Lips Kings Mouth The Flaming Lips announce wide release of new album Kings Mouth

King’s Mouth Tracklist:
01. We Don’t Know How And We Don’t Know Why
02. The Sparrow
03. Giant Baby
04. Mother Universe
05. How Many Times
06. Electric Fire
07. All For The Life Of The City
08. Feedaloodum Beedle Dot
09. Funeral Parade
10. Dipped In Steel
11. Mouth Of The King
12. How Can A Head


Related Images:

Ashley Perez Hollingsworth

Ashley Perez is a freelance music journalist based in Chicago. Her work has appeared on AXS, Chicago Innerview, New City, The Millions, and Illinois Entertainer. She also runs her own music blog at Radio Not Found. Some of her favorite bands include Nirvana, The Cure, Muse, Creeper, and Green Day.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.