The Get Up Kids Announce ‘Problems,’ First New LP In Eight Years

The Get Up Kids are back with new music! The band has announced their new album, Problems, out May 10th via Polyvinyl. This marks their second full-length release since their reunion back in 2008. They give us a preview of the record with the new song “Satellite” along with its accompanying music video directed by Kerstin Ebert. Watch it below.

“I started writing ‘Satellite’ about my son who’s 14 and a total introvert—not antisocial, he just genuinely likes to keep to himself,” guitarist/vocalist Matt Pryor said in a statement. “But then somewhere down the line I started singing about myself—about how even when you’re playing a show to a room full of people, I can still feel anxious and isolated.”

Pre-order Problems here. You can find the tracklisting and artwork below.

The Get Up Kids play South By Southwest, which starts Friday, March 8 and runs until Sunday, March 17 in Austin, Texas. Find more information here.


The Get Up Kids Problems album artwork cover


01. Satellite
02. The Problem Is Me
03. Salina
04. Now Or Never
05. Lou Barlow
06. Fairweather Friends
07. Common Ground
08. Waking Up Alone
09. The Advocate
10. Symphony of Silence
11. Brakelines
12. Your Ghost Is Gone

Related Images:

Ashley Perez Hollingsworth

Ashley Perez is a freelance music journalist based in Chicago. Her work has appeared on AXS, Chicago Innerview, New City, The Millions, and Illinois Entertainer. She also runs her own music blog at Radio Not Found. Some of her favorite bands include Nirvana, The Cure, Muse, Creeper, and Green Day.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.