Corey Taylor Announces New Album ‘CMF2,’ Shares ‘Beyond’

Corey Taylor has announced his sophomore solo album CMF2, due to arrive September 15th via Decibel Cooper/DMG. Taylor remarks that the new LP is “more where we’re going”, whereas the debut was “kind of where I was coming from”.

To preview the record, Taylor has shared its lead single “Beyond.”

“I originally wrote it as an aggressive romantic song, but I’m also looking at it now as a kind of ‘come together’ song,” Taylor stated in a press release. “Bringing the masses together, and letting them know that I want my music to take them beyond what they may think about me. Maybe they’ve had a misconception about me. It’s not exactly a calling card, more like throwing the bat signal up and being ‘alright, let’s turn everything on its head.’ It’s almost a dual threat, because now I look at it from two standpoints.”

Added Taylor on working with Ruston once again: “Together we have great ideas, great energy, and are quick to try everything. We’re not afraid to tell each other if it’s a good idea, or also a bad one; we have that kind of trust.”

The song’s accompanying video and the album artwork, reference Taylor’s past Slipknot masks throughout the years.

Listen to it below.

Additionally, the singer has announced dates for a fall solo tour in support of the album. Shows starts August 25th in Denver, Colorado and run through an October 5th show in Los Angeles. An artist pre-sale is currently ongoing via Ticketmaster. A Live Nation pre-sale starts Wednesday, May 17th. Tickets go on sale Friday, May 19th.

Pre-order CMF2 here.



01. The Box
02. Post Traumatic Blues
03. Talk Sick
04. Breath of Fresh Smoke
05. Beyond
06. We Are the Rest
07. Midnight
08. Starmate
09. Sorry Me
10. Punchline
11. Someday I’ll Change Your Mind
12. All I Want Is Hate
13. Dead Flies


Related Images:

Ashley Perez Hollingsworth

Ashley Perez is a freelance music journalist based in Chicago. Her work has appeared on AXS, Chicago Innerview, New City, The Millions, and Illinois Entertainer. She also runs her own music blog at Radio Not Found. Some of her favorite bands include Nirvana, The Cure, Muse, Creeper, and Green Day.

0 thoughts on “Corey Taylor Announces New Album ‘CMF2,’ Shares ‘Beyond’

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.