Depeche Mode’s Dave Gahan Announces New Album With Soulsavers

Depeche Mode frontman Dave Gahan has announced a new album with Soulsavers (Rich Machin). Titled Imposter, the album drops November 12th via Columbia.

A press release describes the album as 12 reinterpretations “from across genres and time periods” rather than a covers album. It’ll feature reinterpretations of PJ Harvey’s “The Desperate Kingdom of Love,” Gene Clark’s “Where My Love Lies Asleep,” Bob Dylan’s “Not Dark Yet,” and Mark Lanegan’s “Dark Religion” to name a few.

“When I listen to other people’s voices and songs – more importantly the way they sing them and interpret the words – I feel at home,” says Gahan of the project. “I identify with it. It comforts me more than anything else.

“There’s not one performer on the record who I haven’t been moved by,” he said of the featured works.”

Gahan added: “I know we made something special, and I hope other people feel that and it takes them on a little kind of trip – especially people who love music and have for years.”

The duo will share the first single, Cat Power’s “Metal Heart,” this Friday.

The album was recorded live as a ten-member band at the Shangri-La Recording Studio in Malibu, California in November 2019.

Check out the artwork and tracklisting below. Pre-order the album here.

Meanwhile, Gahan and the rest of Depeche Mode recently announced a 40th anniversary special edition of their iconic concert film 101. Pre-orders can be found here.



01. The Dark End Of The Street
02. Strange Religion
03. Lilac Wine
04. I Held My Baby Last Night
05. A Man Needs A Maid
06. Metal Heart
07. Shut Me Down
08. Where My Love Lies Asleep
09. Smile
10. The Desperate Kingdom Of Love
11. Not Dark Yet
12. Always On My Mind

Ashley Perez Hollingsworth

Ashley Perez is a freelance music journalist based in Chicago. Her work has appeared on AXS, Chicago Innerview, New City, The Millions, and Illinois Entertainer. She also runs her own music blog at Radio Not Found. Some of her favorite bands include Nirvana, The Cure, Muse, Creeper, and Green Day.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: