Filter Announce First Album In Seven Years, Share ‘Obliteration’

Filter is back! The band have announced their new album, The Algorithm, out August 25th marking their first in seven years.

As a preview of what’s to come, the band have shared new single “Obliteration.” Produced by frontman Richard Patrick and longtime collaborator Brian Virtue. German-based filmmaker Atanas Shopski helmed the animated lyric video.

“This was a great challenge for me,” Shopski said. “One that pushed me to discover my limits, creatively, artistically, mentally… We decided to go for an element of hope in this world full of despair and show the struggle of the innocent with the merciless surroundings. We follow this girl, who is the last survivor after the obliteration of her world, on her dark adventure in search for other life.”

Watch the video below.

“Obliteration” follows previous single “Face Down.”

Pre-order The Algorithm here.

Filter will head out on tour with Rob Zombie, Alice Cooper, and Ministry next month. Check out all the dates here.



01. The Drowning
02. Up Against The Wall
03. For The Beaten
04. Obliteration
05. Say It Again
06. Face Down
07. Summer Children
08. Threshing Floor
09. Be Careful What You Wish For
10. Burn Out The Sun
11. Command Z

Related Images:

Ashley Perez Hollingsworth

Ashley Perez is a freelance music journalist based in Chicago. Her work has appeared on AXS, Chicago Innerview, New City, The Millions, and Illinois Entertainer. She also runs her own music blog at Radio Not Found. Some of her favorite bands include Nirvana, The Cure, Muse, Creeper, and Green Day.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.