Garbage Announce New Album ‘No Gods No Masters,’ Share New Single

Garbage have announced their new album No Gods No Masters, out June 11th via Stunvolume/Infectious Music.

Produced by Garbage and long-time collaborator Billy Bush, the band started working on the album in summer 2018 in Palm Springs. They stayed at a home belonging to one of Steve Marker’s relatives and wrote the album demos over two weeks. They then took those demos and went their separate ways before meeting in Los Angeles to finish the record.

“This is our seventh record, the significant numerology of which affected the DNA of its content: the seven virtues, the seven sorrows, and the seven deadly sins,” says frontwoman Shirley Manson of the album and its twists and turns from capitalism and lust to loss and grief. “It was our way of trying to make sense of how fucking nuts the world is and the astounding chaos we find ourselves in. It’s the record we felt that we had to make at this time.”

To preview the album, Garbage have shared the album’s lead single “The Men Who Rule the World.” The song is “a protest song – a searing indictment and call to arms critiquing of the rise of capitalist short-sightedness, racism, sexism and misogyny across the world.”

Listen to it below.

Pre-order No Gods No Masters here. The deluxe version includes covers of David Bowie’s “Starman” and Bruce Springsteen’s “Because the Night” featuring Screaming Eagles, as well as several rare Garbage tracks. See the album’s artwork and tracklist below.


Garbage No Gods No Masters artwork


01. The Men Who Rule the World
02. The Creeps
03. Uncomfortably Me
04. Wolves
05. Waiting for God
06. Godhead
07. Anonymous XXX
08. A Woman Destroyed
09. Flipping the Bird
10. No Gods No Masters
11. This City Will Kill You

Related Images:

Ashley Perez Hollingsworth

Ashley Perez is a freelance music journalist based in Chicago. Her work has appeared on AXS, Chicago Innerview, New City, The Millions, and Illinois Entertainer. She also runs her own music blog at Radio Not Found. Some of her favorite bands include Nirvana, The Cure, Muse, Creeper, and Green Day.

0 thoughts on “Garbage Announce New Album ‘No Gods No Masters,’ Share New Single

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.