Royal Blood Return With New Single And New Album ‘Back To The Water Below’

Rock duo Royal Blood is back! After teasing new music earlier this week, the duo have officially released their new single “Mountains at Midnight.”

Frontman Mike Kerr explains “Mountains At Midnight is one of the fastest songs we’ve ever written. We’ve never written a song that fast, it’s all quite groove-based. It feels like a song that should’ve always existed in our arsenal and like a song that’s way overdue. It felt like finding a missing piece.”

Watch the video below.

“Mountains at Midnight” comes from their upcoming new album Back To The Water Below, out September 8th. The album saw the duo doing things a bit differently by self-producing the record for the very first time ever. This hands on approach gave them “the freedom to embrace other ideas, at times being guided by melodies rather than riffs and rhythms, and in other deploying whatever instrumentation they felt best complemented the songs,” a press release states.

Speaking about the album Ben Thatcher says, “I think this record was about letting the ideas take us where they needed to go. If there was a song that was calling us to do something that wasn’t typically what we’re known for, that’s where we’re going to go. The songs are in charge and if that means having a record that’s quite varied that’s what we’re going to go for, rather than trying to shoehorn everything into the same world. As a result, we’ve made a record that’s a bit of a rollercoaster. It’s everything we could do.”

Mike Kerr adds, “No-one saw the years of us playing in loads of bands to no-one, that all gets swept under the carpet because the other story is magical and much more wondrous. Luck is where passion meets opportunity. We got our golden ticket and walked out as tiny ninjas. We were in the right place at the right time, and we have to remember to give ourselves the credit that we didn’t get into this position by winning a quiz show, we put in a serious amount of work. It’s taken us four albums to realise this isn’t luck, we’re good and we’re committed to this.”

Pre-orders for Back To The Water Below can be found here.

Royal Blood will make various festival appearances this summer, including TRNSMT Festival and On the Beach Brighton. Before that, they have two warm-up shows this week in the UK. They’ll also join Muse on their summer tour. Check out all their dates here.



01. Mountains At Midnight
02. Shiner In The Dark
03. Pull Me Through
04. The Firing Line
05. Tell Me When It’s Too Late
06. Triggers
07. How Many More Times
08. High Waters
09. There Goes My Cool
10. Waves

Related Images:

Ashley Perez Hollingsworth

Ashley Perez is a freelance music journalist based in Chicago. Her work has appeared on AXS, Chicago Innerview, New City, The Millions, and Illinois Entertainer. She also runs her own music blog at Radio Not Found. Some of her favorite bands include Nirvana, The Cure, Muse, Creeper, and Green Day.

0 thoughts on “Royal Blood Return With New Single And New Album ‘Back To The Water Below’

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.