The Hives Announce Comeback Album ‘The Death Of Randy Fitzsimmons’

Your favorite band, The Hives, are finally back! The band have announced their new album, The Death of Randy Fitzsimmons, their first album in over 10 years. The album is due to arrive on August 11th and as a taste of what’s to come, the band have shared its lead single “Bogus Operandi.”

The band lays down the album’s wild origin story, saying they haven’t heard from the titular character – the “founder, mentor, and songwriter” who started the band 30 years ago – since they released their last album 2012’s Lex Hives. Recently, they discovered an obituary that led them to Fitzsimmons’ tombstone. But as they dig up the grave, they find demo tapes and a piece of paper plotting The Death of Randy Fitzsimmons.

“There’s no maturity or anything like that bullshit, because who the fuck wants mature rock’n’roll?” said frontman Howlin’ Pelle Almqvist. “That’s always where people go wrong, I feel. ‘It’s like rock’n’roll but adult,’ nobody wants that! That’s literally taking the good shit out of it. Rock’n’roll can’t grow up, it is a perpetual teenager and this album feels exactly like that, which it’s all down to our excitement — and you can’t fake that shit.”

The album, produced by Patrik Berger, marks The Hives’ first since The Johan And Only replaced bassist Dr. Matt Destruction. The album will be released digitally and on CD and vinyl, with a glow-in-the-dark vinyl and poster available at the band’s website. Those who pre-order will gain access to a May 10th pre-sale for their June 13th show at The Garage in London.

Pre-order it here.

The Hives have a handful of headlining shows booked in New York and California. Following this they’ll join the Arctic Monkey on their UK/European tour. Check out all their dates here.



01. Bogus Operandi
02. Trapdoor Solution
03. Countdown to Shutdown
04. Rigor Mortis Radio
05. Stick Up
06. Smoke & Mirrors
07. Crash Into the Weekend
08. Two Kinds of Trouble
09. The Way the Story Goes
10. The Bomb
11. What Did I Ever Do to You?
12. Step Out of the Way

Related Images:

Ashley Perez Hollingsworth

Ashley Perez is a freelance music journalist based in Chicago. Her work has appeared on AXS, Chicago Innerview, New City, The Millions, and Illinois Entertainer. She also runs her own music blog at Radio Not Found. Some of her favorite bands include Nirvana, The Cure, Muse, Creeper, and Green Day.

0 thoughts on “The Hives Announce Comeback Album ‘The Death Of Randy Fitzsimmons’

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.