White Stripes’ Final Album, ‘Icky Thump,’ Will Be Reissued For 10th Anniversary

The White Stripes’ final album, 2007’s Icky Thump, turns ten years old this month and Jack White isn’t letting the moment go uncelebrated. White’s record label, Third Man Records, will release the LP as a vinyl-only reissue featuring demos and unreleased tracks.

The album, released as part of Third Man’s Vault Packages, will be pressed on color vinyl for the first time. It will also feature an alternate jacket and new sticker art. Along with a remaster of the original album, it also comes with a collection of non-album B-sides, such as a cover of Hank Williams’ “Tennessee Border,” alternate versions of two LP tracks, and five tracks recorded during a session produced by Beck.

The third record is The Red Demos, filled with early “workship” versions of 10 Icky Thump songs the duo recorded before making the record. This also features the unreleased instrumental track “Monkeys Have it Easy.”

As an added bonus the collection comes with a photobook with unseen Polaroids from the era, along with an 8×10 “mystery print,” a “Rag and Bone” pin set and more.

To get your hands on Icky Thump X you have to subscribe to the Third Man Vault by July 31st. Sign up for the package here. Check out the complete tracklisting below.

Icky Thump X Track List

1. “Icky Thump”
2. “You Don’t Know What Love is (You Just Do as You’re Told)”
3. “300 M.P.H. Torrential Outpour Blues”
4. “Conquest”
5. “Bone Broke”
6. “Prickly Thorn, But Sweetly Worn”
7. “St. Andrew (This Battle is in the Air)”
8. “Little Cream Soda”
9. “Rag and Bone”
10. “I’m Slowly Turning Into You”
11. “A Martyr for My Love for You”
12. “Catch Hell Blues”
13. “Effect and Cause”

Icky Thump B-Sides LP:
1. “Tennessee Border” (originally by Hank Williams)
2. “Baby Brother” (originally by Bill Carter and the Rovin Gamblers)
3. “You Don’t Know What Love Is (You Just Do As You’re Told) (frat rock version)”
4. “A Martyr For My Love For You (acoustic version)”
5. “It’s My Fault For Being Famous”
6. “Cash Grab Complications On The Matter”
7. “Honey, We Can’t Afford To Look This Cheap”
8. “Conquest (acoustic mariachi version)”
9. “Conquista (Spanish language version)”

The Red Demos:
1. “You Don’t Know What Love Is (You Just Do As You’re Told)”
2. “A Martyr For My Love For You”
3. “Rag and Bone”
4. “Catch Hell Blues”
5. “Little Cream Soda”
6. “Prickly Thorn, But Sweetly Worn”
7. “Monkeys Have It Easy”
8. “Bone Broke”
9. “Icky Thump”
10. “Conquest”
11. “300 MPH Torrential Outpour Blues”



Ashley Perez Hollingsworth

Ashley Perez is a freelance music journalist based in Chicago. Her work has appeared on AXS, Chicago Innerview, New City, The Millions, and Illinois Entertainer. She also runs her own music blog at Radio Not Found. Some of her favorite bands include Nirvana, The Cure, Muse, Creeper, and Green Day.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: