Danny Elfman Announces First New Album In 37 Years ‘Big Mess’

Danny Elfman has announced his new solo album, Big Mess, out June 11th via ANTI-/Epitaph. This marks his first album in 37 years.

The 18-track double-album will feature previously released singles “Happy,” “Sorry,” “Love in the Time of COVID,” and “Kick Me” along with a reworked version of Oingo Boingo’s “Insects.” The album also includes collaborations with drummer Josh Freese (The Vandals, Devo), bassist Stu Brooks (Lauryn Hill, Lady Gaga), guitarist Robin Finck (Nine Inch Nails, Guns N’ Roses), and Elfman’s frequent collaborator guitarist Nili Brosh (Dethklok, Paul Gilbert).

In a press release, Elfman says, “Once I began writing, it was like opening a Pandora’s box and I found I couldn’t stop. None of it was planned. I had no idea how many songs I would write but from the start it quickly became a 2-sided project with heavily contrasting and even conflicting tones… I knew from the start that this wasn’t going to be a neat, easy-to-categorize record. It was always destined to be this crazy cacophony, because that’s who I am. The Big Mess is me.”

In addition to the new album, Elfman has shared new single “True.” The clip by multimedia artist Sarah Sitkin features Elfman but as Sitkin explains, “only in his reproduced likeness via prosthetics, masks and 3d printed body parts.”

Watch the eerie video below.

Pre-order Big Mess here. Elfman is planning a limited edition box set for a fall release. This will include unreleased remixes and alternative versions of the new songs along with collectable artwork, a USB drive filled with videos and bonus material, and an artbook featuring Sitkin’s work.


Danny Elfman announces first solo album in 37 years (stream “True”)


01. Sorry
02. True
03. In Time
04. Everybody Loves You
05. Dance With The Lemurs
06. Serious Ground
07. Choose Your Side
08. We Belong
09. Happy
10. Just A Human
11. Devil Take Away
12. Love In The Time Of Covid
13. Native Intelligence
14. Better Times
15. Cruel Compensation
16. Kick Me
17. Get Over It
18. Insects

Related Images:

Ashley Perez Hollingsworth

Ashley Perez is a freelance music journalist based in Chicago. Her work has appeared on AXS, Chicago Innerview, New City, The Millions, and Illinois Entertainer. She also runs her own music blog at Radio Not Found. Some of her favorite bands include Nirvana, The Cure, Muse, Creeper, and Green Day.

0 thoughts on “Danny Elfman Announces First New Album In 37 Years ‘Big Mess’

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.