Gorillaz Announce New Album ‘Cracker Island,’ Share New Single With Tame Impala

The next era of Gorillaz is officially here. The virtual band have announced their eighth studio album, Cracker Island, out February 24th via Parlophone.

Similar to past efforts, this album will feature a slew of guest starts, including Stevie Nicks, Bad Bunny, Beck, The Pharcyde’s Bootie Brown, and Adeleye Omotayo. In terms of the band’s lore, this time the band is joining a cult:

“Murdoc, Noodle, Russel, and 2D have relocated to Silver Lake, California as they recruit new members to join ‘The Last Cult’, in search of the one truth to fix the world. Reports from the Golden State indicate that Murdoc is in love with the lady next door. Russel is glued to the TV. Noodle is compiling a handbook of wisdom and knowledge. And 2D is busy being 2D.”

Get a taste of the new album with the band’s latest single “New Gold” featuring Tame Impala. Listen to it below.

Cracker Island will be released in standard, deluxe, and limited edition copies. Pre-orders can be found here.

Gorillaz are about to launch their 2022 North American tour. Check out all their dates here.


Gorillaz Cracker Island


01. Cracker Island (feat. Thundercat)
02. Oil (feat. Stevie Nicks)
03. The Tired Influencer
04. Tarantula
05. Silent Running (feat. Adeleye Omotayo)
06. New Gold (feat. Tame Impala and Bootie Brown)
07. Baby Queen
08. Tormenta (feat. Bad Bunny)
09. Skinny Ape
10. Possession Island (feat. Beck)

Related Images:

Ashley Perez Hollingsworth

Ashley Perez is a freelance music journalist based in Chicago. Her work has appeared on AXS, Chicago Innerview, New City, The Millions, and Illinois Entertainer. She also runs her own music blog at Radio Not Found. Some of her favorite bands include Nirvana, The Cure, Muse, Creeper, and Green Day.

0 thoughts on “Gorillaz Announce New Album ‘Cracker Island,’ Share New Single With Tame Impala

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.