Empire State Bastard Announce Debut Album ‘Rivers Of Heresy’

Empire State Bastard have announced their debut album Rivers of Heresy, which arrives September 1st via Roadrunner Records.

The band is led by Biffy Clyro’s Simon Neil and Mike Vennart, and features legendary drummer Dave Lombardo (Slayer, Testament, Mr. Bungle,) and Naomi Macleod on bass.

“I set about making the most fucking poisonous vile music I possibly could, just unabridged hatred in musical form,” Vennart is quoted as saying about the record, while Neil added: “Lyrically, it’s as misanthropic and nihilistic as I’ve ever written.”

Rivers of Heresy can be pre-ordered here. In addition to its digital release, it will be available on CD with an exclusive 24-page fanzine, on poison green vinyl and red/black marble vinyl, and cassette. There’s also a deluxe edition featuring a 7” with “Harvest” and a non-album b-side.

Empire State Bastard will play various festivals this summer, including Download, Glastonbury, and ArcTanGent, followed by an appearance at Riot Fest in September. Check out all their dates here.


Empire State Bastard's ‘Rivers Of Heresy’ artwork by Daniel P Carter


01. Harvest
02. Blusher
03. Moi?
04. Tired, Aye?
05. Sons And Daughters
06. Stutter
07. Palms Of Hands
08. Dusty
09. Sold!
10. The Looming

Related Images:

Ashley Perez Hollingsworth

Ashley Perez is a freelance music journalist based in Chicago. Her work has appeared on AXS, Chicago Innerview, New City, The Millions, and Illinois Entertainer. She also runs her own music blog at Radio Not Found. Some of her favorite bands include Nirvana, The Cure, Muse, Creeper, and Green Day.

0 thoughts on “Empire State Bastard Announce Debut Album ‘Rivers Of Heresy’

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.