Joy Division Celebrates 40th Anniversary Of ‘Closer’ With Vinyl Reissue

Joy Division’s iconic final album, Closer, is getting a vinyl issue to celebrate its 40th anniversary. In addition, non-album singles “Love Will Tear Us Apart”, “Transmission”, and “Atmosphere” will get 12″ releases.

The Closer reissue will be pressed on clear vinyl and is set for release July 17th via Rhino Records. The singles will release on the same day and will be repressed on 180-gram vinyl in sleeves that preserve the original single artwork.

This marks the first time the songs have been repressed since the band’s label, Factory Records, shutdown in 1992. Each will feature its original b-side: “Transmission” b/w “Novelty”, “Love Will Tear Us Apart” b/w “These Days”, and “Atmosphere” b/w “She’s Lost Control.”

Pre-order all the reissues as a bundle for $64.98 or individually via the New Order website. Check out the artwork and tracklisting below.


Joy Division Closer 40th anniversary reissue artwork cover vinyl1

Closer 40th Anniversary Reissue Tracklist:
Side A
01. Atrocity Exhibition
02. Isolation
03. Passover
04. Colony
05. A Means To An End
Side B
01. Heart And Soul
02. Twenty Four Hours
03. The Eternal
04. Decades



Ashley Perez Hollingsworth

Ashley Perez is a freelance music journalist based in Chicago. Her work has appeared on AXS, Chicago Innerview, New City, The Millions, and Illinois Entertainer. She also runs her own music blog at Radio Not Found. Some of her favorite bands include Nirvana, The Cure, Muse, Creeper, and Green Day.

0 thoughts on “Joy Division Celebrates 40th Anniversary Of ‘Closer’ With Vinyl Reissue

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: